top of page

Semester Abroad- Oslo, Norway


This year I decided to take a semester to study abroad. I am currently studying at Hogskolen I Oslo og Akershus (HIOA), in Lillestrom, Norway (just outside Oslo). The university is fantastic and the facilities available are amazing. HIOA has the best workshops in all of Europe and I'm looking forward to using them!

The biggest culture shock so far has been the weather. The first week I arrived here it was -24degrees. The cold was unimaginable. As I walked from my apartment to class each day, my hair had icicles in it and my stubble had frozen to my jacket. For once I actually missed the Scottish weather! Although I can't really complain because I open my curtains each morning a find myself in Narnia!

Want to know what was worse than the weather? Being abroad with a Scottish accent. The amount of times I had to repeat myself was giving me a headache! For the first week people were translating what I was saying into English. I had to stop using the phrase 'Aye' and start saying 'Yes'. One thing that is great about being from Scotland though, is the amount of people who randomly shout 'Freedom!' at you. I get a wee sense of home pride every time I hear it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

CALVIN BROWN

bottom of page